Heart Chakra: Loving Compassion

What are the Chakras?

Chakra Roller Blend Collection Nourish Natural Products

The Sanskrit word chakra translates to a “wheel” or “disk.” In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras that align along the spine, starting from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.1

Chakras store the energy of thoughts, feelings, memories, experiences, and actions. Chakra healing refers to the idea that when all of our chakras are open, energy can run through them freely, and harmony exists between the body, mind, and spirit, creating a sense of overall well-being.

Don’t worry if this sounds “woo-woo” to you at first. Honestly, it did to me, too. Now that I’ve done more research, though, I understand that this is all about holistic connection. Let’s dig in.

Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra Roller Blend Collection Nourish Natural Products

The Sanskrit word for Heart Chakra is “Anāhata.” It means “unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten.”

The Heart Chakra is the center of compassion, love, and beauty.⁠

Universal Color: Green

Element: Air

Location: In the center of your chest, near your heart

Associated Body Parts: Heart, Lungs, Thymus

Open Chakra: You feel joy for no apparent reason. You easily attract love and support in your life. Just as abundantly as you receive, you easily and freely give. You feel a heartfelt sense of gratitude for how wonderful your life is. You appreciate others and feel compassion for yourself and others without feeling sorry for anyone. 2

Closed Chakra: Your feelings get hurt easily. You feel you have to keep your heart protected or closed so you don’t trigger repressed and hurt feelings from your childhood. You don’t easily feel happy and it’s a challenge feeling joyful for very long. You lead with your head more often than your heart. 2


Heart Chakra Roller Blend Collection Nourish Natural Products

The following MANTRAS may help open and balance the Heart Chakra.

  • I am open to receiving love.
  • I am worthy of love.⁠
  • Love flows through me freely.
  • I follow my heart’s calling.
  • I forgive myself and others.
  • I am free from past hurt.⁠
  • I release resentment.
  • I show compassion to myself and others.


Journaling from the Heart Chakra Nourish

Following are ACTIVITIES that help open and balance the Heart Chakra:


Avocado for the Heart Chakra

Following are HEALING FOODS that help open and balance the Heart Chakra:

-Green Vegetables, Leafy Greens, Avocados, Green Onions, Green Peppers, Asparagus, Artichoke
-Green Fruits, Green Grapes, Honeydew Melon, Kiwi, Pear
-Green Legumes, Green Beans, Green Split Peas, Edamame 

Essential oils for the Heart Chakra

Following are ESSENTIAL OILS that help open and balance the Heart Chakra:

Rose, Grapefruit, Geranium, Rhododendron, Bergamot, Lavender, Ylang Ylang

Green Crystal heart Chakra

Following are CRYSTALS that help open and balance the Heart Chakra:

Rose Quartz, Emerald, Green Jade, Green Aventurine, Green Tourmaline


Heart Chakra Roller Blend Nourish Natural Products

Our special Heart Chakra Blend contains Grapefruit, Rhododendron, Bergamot, Rose, and Rose Quartz Crystals, which help create a sense of deep self-love and compassion, and heal emotional wounds.⁠


You May Also Like

Join the Newsletter

We treasure our Nourish community and would love for you to join us!

Expect two weekly emails that bring joy to your inbox. Get unexpected insights into Nourish products, enjoy exclusive offers, and join subscriber-only events.

Plus, receive our Nourish Together newsletter, thoughtfully written by our founder, filled with recipes, inspiration, wellness tips, and upcoming events. Join us for a boost of positivity every week!